Robin Hawke


Writing should be simple
May 20, 2011, 5:17 PM
Filed under: Emotions, Life and Stuff | Tags:

Writing should be simple. Idea > eruption > refinement.  Then, to achieve something worthwhile, a dance—the lead alternating between words and author.

There are writers who think in sentences. When interviewed, they use beautiful language. It comes naturally and ably. I’m sure writing is simple for them, second nature.

I think in pictures. I stumble over words. I skip important segues. I fall downstairs, pick myself up, and slowly, with bruises aplenty, climb the forbidding incline.

What keeps me going? I use to teach. I remember students with natural talent, they danced up those stairs in twos and threes, but soon slipped away, beyond sight, and left no evidence of their rich inclinations. Others would make plodding progress. They would get to the top and build a scaffold to climb higher. I learned from them.

I think in pictures, and, for now, that will have to do; it’s a sturdy platform.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

