Robin Hawke


A Hike
May 31, 2011, 3:22 PM
Filed under: Emotions, Life and Stuff | Tags: ,

Why, when I’ve written for years, do I feel like I’m just beginning?

This beginning place is not foreign ground. I’ve stood here before. I know where the path in front of me leads.

But, the creek I ramble along is overflowing with last week’s rains and spring thaw. Rocks I’ve jumped on are submerged; the water is cold; the trail hasn’t been pruned. The distance I make is accompanied by doubt and scratches and not a few slips.

I know where the trail ends.

It ends in the promise of satisfaction and waterfalls of clean, clear prose. It ends in jubilation.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

