Robin Hawke


One Way of Being
August 8, 2011, 8:05 PM
Filed under: Emotions, Life and Stuff | Tags: , , ,

A funny thing happened on the way to find nominations for the Blog on Fire Award. I began to question what I was doing with my own blog.  There are so many blogs—with generic advice written by myriad experts.

I ran across an article, in a blog naturally, on How to Write a Successful Blog.

Discouragement set in. Not one of the things it suggested was at all interesting. Do we really need more of the Top 5 Lists or Top 10 Things?    Tutorials and how-to’s, must I?

I’m interested in a world filled with increasing amounts of love, tolerance and compassion.

But, I’m not interested in a blog that tells you 5 Ways of Being More Compassionate. Nor do I want to write a tutorial on How To Love Thy Neighbor.  It’s true, I already knew this about myself and my blog. But  what I didn’t know was how upsetting it would be to discover that, once again, I’ve chosen the hardest and lengthiest path possible. There is nothing popular or latest trend about love, tolerance and compassion.

On that note, I am off to make a donation to the Red Cross. It is one way I can stir my own compassion.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

