Robin Hawke


Banquet
September 16, 2011, 1:30 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: ,

Sam looked contented with the long table and never-ending spread.

He fought a desire to tear bread apart, smear it with honey. He resisted shoving a neighbor’s hand away. Roasted figs, braised spinach, succulent roast beef, ten types of wine. He put a napkin in his lap.

Before he ate, he watched the revelers. They were gluttons: juices ran down chins; fingers crammed food into overstuffed cheeks.

The thought of scooping crabmeat into his mouth caused a shiver of delight.

No. He would let his manners inhibit him, for now—a wealth of time remained, here in the underworld.

 

More entries to "inhibit" prompt.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oooooo. Delicious. 🙂

Comment by Lou Lohman

Yes… very good. Decadently so.

Comment by Tara R.

You made me very very hungry. I liked the ending too. Underworld! What happens next?

Comment by Amy LaBonte

I’ve been to banquets–ate too much, shoes hurt, couldn’t think of another thing to say to my neighbors; I can’t imagine the discomfort of one without end.

Comment by robinhawke

You are devilish!

Comment by Velvet Verbosity (@velvetverbosity)

Hi there ! I’m popping in from the 100-word challenge . My first time here .

Your piece was a visual delight … could see the food in my “mind’s eye” .
Great cliffhanger ending … “underworld” has endless possibilities … when will we read the rest of the story ?

Comment by mish

Leaving the end of the never-ending banquet to your imagination…

Thanks! Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

Nice!

Comment by seekingelevation

I was drooling, then recoiled in embarrassment when I recognized myself as one of the gluttons!

Comment by dolly doormat doesn't live here!

I love your response! Robin

Comment by robinhawke

Excellent! Great description and I loved the twist at the end.

Comment by bardicblogger

Thank you!

Comment by Robin Hawke

Ah, the anticipation of release. Very nicely done.

Comment by arcticwren

Thank you! Another 100 words would have been useful…even more food. Robin

Comment by robinhawke




Leave a Reply

