Robin Hawke


Monday’s Voice
September 26, 2011, 11:03 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags:

I can’t read? The numbers are in the exact same place. I hand the teabag my boarding pass anyway. He points straight ahead. Great, the baby’s screaming.

A million years go by before I get my seat. I look up and see him flapping his arms around in some kind of super-sized sign language. Next he’ll check my seat belt. I should cover myself with a blanket and pretend I’m asleep.

I pull out some gum and he’s there, telling me I have to put my bag under the seat in front of me. It’s not like it’ll go anywhere else.

I’ll make sure to ask him where the bathroom is.   =barfmoron I tweet.

Voice Week 2011

Click to read more voices.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

LOL Love the sense of humor in this. Looking forward to more voices from you on this piece

Comment by Janece

Thanks! So many people to choose from…I’m looking forward to it too. Robin

Comment by robinhawke

[…] Read the rest” Monday’s Voice « Robin Hawke. […]

Pingback by Monday’s Voice « Robin Hawke « Voice Week HQ

Voice so strong I can taste it! Love the hyperbole and sarcasm.

Comment by bekindrewrite

I debated about “a million years” thinking it was cliche, glad to know it worked for you. Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

Love it!

Comment by alltimescout

Ahh flights, a necessary evil sometimes. I love the way the humour comes through in this piece.

Comment by Billie Jo Woods

Interesting voice – Love that he (seems like a he) called the ticket guy a “teabag”

Comment by Craig Towsley

I visited several teen forums to find “teabag”–it didn’t come out of vocab at hand…Thank you, Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

An interesting start to your Voice Week. Glad someone above explained ‘teabag’ to me – oh what it is to be so old and out of touch!
Looking forward to tomorrow’s voice.

Comment by Mike

Edited last line from =moron. to =barfmoron I tweet.

The period bugged me–it would have been forgotten.

Robin

Comment by robinhawke

Oh yes, a strong voice this one! I really enjoy that it has a dry, dark humour to it. Too rare these days. Fabulous writing.

Comment by scribbla

Hahahaha 😀 This was great and refreshing. I loved the humour -and it’s ALL very true! lol I am certainly looking forward to what you come up with next.

‘I’ll make sure to ask him where the bathroom is. =barfmoron I tweet.’ <— Just love it!

Comment by yikici

I love the ending “=barfmoron I tweet.”

Comment by R.L.W.




Leave a Reply

