Robin Hawke


Voice Week Recap
October 3, 2011, 10:02 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: , , , ,

I debated participating in Voice Week 2011. Worried it would push publication of my next book, Recommending Honey, back by a week, which it did, I almost clicked away from the site.

But, the opportunity was too alluring. It was a challenge; it would lead me to discovery; there was certain surprise (I had no idea what to write about, the voices I’d want to explore); the voyage included other like-minded writers.

I learned by writing, by reading, by analyzing, by commiserating and by constraint. Always, mistakes teach me more than successes. I learned punctuation is a variable–some characters prefer commas to semicolons and I agonized over a period and also a colon; I learned to distrust the words that came naturally; I learned syntax will nail a voice more surely than vocabulary words.

Thank you to everyone who stopped by to comment on my five voices and a special thank you for bekindrewrite who constructed the necessary restraints to let these voices out.

In order (opposite of blog order):

Voice 1
Voice 2
Voice 3
Voice 4
Voice 5

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Agreed. It was a fantastic writing opportuntity. I also nearly gave it a miss. I only signed up on the Monday it started, though I knew about it ages before. Still, I’m glad I did. I came across your writing and am pleased to now be following your endeavours.

Comment by scribbla

LOL I love your comment about punctuation!!! So happy you and ALL of us decided to play. 🙂 I now have several new blogs on my Blogroll, and hopefully the beginnings of some great supportive new friendships!

Comment by Janece

Ditto. Robin

Comment by robinhawke




Leave a Reply

