Robin Hawke


School Days
October 6, 2011, 4:23 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: ,

He looked through the window, up at the blue sky and fluffy clouds.  Jacob’s plans to enjoy the last days of summer felt like soap bubbles, ready to pop.

School started Tuesday. His mother wanted to take him shopping. Mom liked new clothes. His father wanted to take him fishing, to teach him a few tricks from his youth in big sky country. Like Jacob wanted to brave the winds.

The unseasonal weather was mucking up everything. Plans for twelve hour school days were in the works, approved. With snow on the ground, no one knew what February would bring.

100 Words for Grown Ups

The prompt this week is: …the unseasonal weather….Click to read entries.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Poor Jacob! The thought of his plans popping like soap bubbles because adults had other ideas. Really poignant image.

Comment by Gill Robins

That image was the genesis for this piece…I actually wanted him to blow bubbles outside and have them freeze and break, but I didn’t have time to research what that entailed. Thanks for stopping by, Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

I agree with Gill – poor Jacob! I can really feel his anguish at having his last moments of freedom snatched away from him by other people’s plans.

Comment by Sally-Jayne

Very nice imagery. I remember those days. Now I have those moments on Sunday nights before returning to work…

Comment by wcdameron

I like your imagery, especially how you describe Jacob’s plans “like soap bubbles, ready to pop.” I am a little embarrassed that I’m confused by your story. I don’t understand how all the parts fit together in the end, but I did like the journey.

Comment by Sparks In Shadow

Sounds like work at the moment! My Manager told me how excited he was for the snow to arrive – I pointed out that was okay for him he can stay at home and work if the snow is bad – I have to have about 2 foot of the stuff before I can realistically justify that I can’t drive or walk 3 miles across town to get to work!

Comment by Han

This took me back to my days as a head teacher and the decisions that were often made because of the weather! As the others have said, you have used some brilliant imagery. Thank you for taking up the challenge!

Comment by Julia

12 hour school days? Argh!

I like the soap bubbles too 🙂

Comment by Dughall McCormick (@dughall)




Leave a Reply

