Robin Hawke


Sum Total
October 15, 2011, 7:26 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: ,

The writer stared at her keyboard, wrote one hundred words, deleted seventy. The writer took a shower, stared at her notepad, added fifty words, crossed out thirty, rewrote forty. The writer took a nap, crossed out twenty words, rewrote, rewrote, rewrote. The writer made a snack, answered emails, got distracted by her work and went to bed. Then she dreamed. The writer woke, wrote one hundred words, deleted eighty. She took a shower, stared at her keyboard, added sixty words, deleted forty, rewrote twenty. The writer, never satisfied, rewrote the beginning, added thirty words, subtracted fifty, changed twenty, improved forty.

Note: If self-criticism is a red stoplight, keep moving, pay no attention. If it motivates you to improve, then it’s a green light no matter how often you stop.

Read entries to "satisfied" prompt.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Bravo. Well done.
Usually when I think too hard, I’ll just give up and start over later. I can’t afford to second guess myself. Whatever spews out, lands on the paper.

Like William Blake said, “First thought is best in art, second in other matters.”

Comment by Daniel

Spewing is good. Believe in it myself. Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

Ha! This is exactly how I write my 100 too, and still am not always satisfied with the end results.

Comment by Tara R.

So true you could have been describing my process. Thank God for the word counter on my document because at least I don’t have to wonder how many more or less words I need, lol. It’s gotten so bad I can’t even make comments on blogs without deleting and revising until either I give up or am satisfied.

Comment by Madison Woods

I’ve given up on comments. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve hit the submit button to stare in dismay at an its or a typo or muddy meaning. I’ve decided comments are conversational, at least mine are, and to let them go, hoping people will respond to their content if they notice mistakes (which I know they do!) Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

HI Robin,

It all comes out right in the end though, doesn’t it?

Aloha,

Doug

Comment by dmmacilroy

Great take on the prompt ! I also tend to delete and revise comments until I’m satisfied. Doesn’t always work though.

Comment by mish

sometimes it’s that hard – or just that easy – isn’t it?

Comment by barbara

Of course I’m going to love this.

Comment by Velvet Verbosity (@velvetverbosity)

I didn’t even get into the part where the writer turns on the grammar check and stares and stares and stares at a sentence, wondering if she should flout rules or get back in line…LOL

Perseverence everyone, as Doug says…it comes out right,
Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke




Leave a Reply

