Robin Hawke


Sanctuary
October 23, 2011, 5:41 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: ,

The heavy doors opened at eleven each morning. Visitors turned left to stand in line, took every allotted second of fifteen minutes to prowl cyberspace. They departed without exploring, without wondering what else occupied the magnificent edifice.

The corridors on the right stayed quiet, day and night. Despite the dearth of humans, the place remained a revered sanctuary. A few, humans who trespassed the aisles, found refuge.

Ignored by people, the library corridors filled with invisible crowds.  The ghosts in the stacks particularly treasured imagination. They poured themselves into substantial books, filling their empty souls with the languages of dreams.

Read entries to "quiet" prompt.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

love this! I love old libraries with their spectres

Comment by barbara

This feels comfortable. Like how a library really does respond to the people who seek refuge in the stacks.

Comment by Tara R.

I love your writing, but particularly the shorter pieces. I think you say more in a lot of those three-sentence stories than in these 100 words.

Comment by Tracy Hutchinson

Appreciate the crit…this is one of those stories that has been itching to get out. Every time I visit the library, I notice the stacks are empty while people are lined up trying to get on the internet. That and the phrase “ghosts in the stacks”…

Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

I love the feel of this. I personally haven’t been in a library for years…I prefer to own my books so I can reread them…but perhaps I should make a visit

Comment by Carrie

Sadly this is so true. Often I visit the library and with all the people on computers and checking out dvd’s, it resembles more of a cyber cafe and video store than library! I love the image of ghosts filling their empty souls…a library would be my favorite haunt!

Comment by dolly doormat doesn't live here!

Mine too!

Comment by Robin Hawke

I’ve always loved libraries. Regrettably I too have fallen into the habit of getting information through the computer, though I don’t have to go to the library for it. There’s a little town library within walking distance of me. I really should visit it more often.

This was a fabulously haunting little story, just in time for Halloween. 🙂

Comment by Velvet Verbosity (@velvetverbosity)




Leave a Reply

