Robin Hawke


Long Nights
October 25, 2011, 2:41 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: , ,

I watched television until my eyelids drifted; I read until my chin bounced; I left every light, every bulb on. To stay awake.

Every morning, tired as I was, I did my thing. The grumps visited me but my veggie meals were wholesome, sustaining me through arguments with boss, mom, and the finale with my boyfriend. Clearly, I needed sleep.

Not sleeping, not waking, I manipulated my nightmare, superimposed a dream. The hamburger meat I craved, the thick buns, the juicy fat that fueled desire—I tweaked ingredients until the hamburger became a rancid sculpture. Withdrawal never tasted so bad.

100 Words for Grown Ups

The prompt this week is: …Vegetarian POV….Click to read entries.

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the mental picture of “I read until my chin bounced.”

Comment by Sally-Jayne

‘The juicy fat that fuelled desire’ – what a brilliant line! Think I know that feeling. A really great piece of writing.

Comment by Lynda Dixon

I had to check my spelling…we’re both right, opposites side of ocean! Thanks, Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

I loved your description of the tiredness! Another interesting take on this prompt 🙂

Comment by annahalford (@anhalf)

I agree with the others before me – your description of nodding off was splendid. A good description of the dificulty of overcoming addiction.

Comment by scribbla

Withdrawal symptoms described beautifully! Long nights indeed!

Comment by Dughall McCormick (@dughall)

Those grumps…Thanks, Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

Yikes! I’m guessing I’ll have nightmares the next time I want to bite into a big juicy burger!!

Comment by Janece

I love your way with words and this one made me hungry for more….

Comment by wcdameron

Words do satisfy hunger, don’t they? Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

This is great Robin. I love the twist and turns of this.

Comment by Lisa Wields Words

Love the way this is written.

Comment by susankmann

‘Not sleeping, not waking, I manipulated my nightmare, superimposed a dream.’ I love this line – how often have I wished to do just this. A clever piece describing your characters’ inner battles.

Comment by Alison Green

Tried to myself this morning… Swimming in water, long snake with fangs following me. Kept imagining myself taking that snake by the throat, but the semi-waking part of me knew I was just too slow a swimmer compared to that acrobatic reptile.

Comment by Robin Hawke

Oh dear Robin. What a craving but you got there in the end. The description of that burger shows that it is certainly still a battle going on! Thank you so much for joining 8in this week!

Comment by jfb57




Leave a Reply

