Robin Hawke


Revelation
October 29, 2011, 5:58 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: ,

I look like a piece of ginger: stubs and stumps. The hole where my mouth used to be is stuffed with tubes.

Doctors prod me, amazed I remain alive. I object the only way left me: I grant mystical experiences should their flesh touch mine; in return, I gobble intellect, although I leave my nurses alone. Fellow scientists dismiss the transcendent epiphanies, label their colleagues quacks. They come to my bedside; I swipe their brains clean too. A line of pilgrims forms in the hallway. All Souls’ Day approaches—the day the visits end.

Come all, soothe my naked brow.

Read entries to the prompt...scare me...

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow, stark and brutal. I like the last line. At first I thought it would work at the beginning but once you read through the middle section with the doctors, it works perfectly as a final thought.

I like this.

Comment by Lance

ooooh shivery!

Comment by barbara

Powerful. Perfect for Halloween.

Comment by wcdameron

Very creepy. I liked the ginger stump description. I could picture that perfectly.

Comment by Tara R.

I think I cross-wired a mandrake root, but it’s okay, especially if it worked. Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke




Leave a Reply

