Robin Hawke


Splitting and Spitting

I have given a large chunk of every day to NaNoWriMo. Then, when the chunk is done, I’ve heaped abuse on the three thousand words I’ve written. My behavior is classic. I blame the victim for my ineptitude, for my lack of wit, and for my sorry teabag brain. Despite the embrace of hours and hours, I plan to discard the victim in a divorce that has the earmarks of being a nasty, vocal affair. Somehow, I plan to wrest anything of value, certain scenic ideas, as a settlement. Yes, I’ll abandon the husk for a newer rewrite. With pleasure.

Read entries to the prompt...writing...

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the “sorry teabag brain” line.

Comment by Craig Towsley

I’m thinking I might burn my NaNoWriMo words in a ritual bonfire on 12/1. S’mores optional.

Comment by Tara R.

“abandon the husk” – perfect

I know this feeling so well. Great stuff, Robin.

Comment by Lance

Sometimes you just have to start over… but you may look at what you wrote in a few weeks and decide it isn’t as bad as you think. Rewrite, but don’t delete.

Comment by Jennifer M Eaton

Nice description of your feelings! Get out of it and write an awesome piece!!

Comment by lynnette-net

I love the “teabag brain” thinggie… *chuckles*
Lovely reflection of your NaNo experience!

Comment by mish

Despite your “teabag brain” and heaping of “abuse on the three thousand words I’ve written” you are doing it! I’m inspired and a bit intimidated by your NaNo progress. Yeah for you!!

Comment by dolly doormat doesn't live here!

Lucky us that the prose never stands up and defends itself. It’s a perfect victim.

Comment by John Wiswell

poor innocent NaNo work…all it wants is love 🙂

Comment by Carrie

between your piece and the comments I am chuckling. Rewrites are a necessary evil – I love Tara’s bonfire idea. 🙂 Hang in there.

Comment by barbara

Last year, I think I was four days in before I started telling everyone that after November 30, I would NEVER look at my novel again. I was right. Two years in a row.

Comment by seekingelevation

Thanks for the encouragement everyone. I’ll have a whole new outlook in time, see this post:

https://robinhawke.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/sweet-inspiration/

Robin

Comment by Robin Hawke

The trick to NaNo is to not edit until after it’s over. Not that I’ve EVER completed NaNoWriMo, but you know, do as I say, not as I do. 😉

Comment by Velvet Verbosity (@velvetverbosity)




Leave a Reply

