Robin Hawke


Valuable
November 21, 2011, 2:59 PM
Filed under: Three Sentence Stories

She argued with herself, running through the reasons she should keep her job. There was only one reason to quit, self preservation. She wanted her work to matter.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We’d all like our work to matter. I’d like for my writer to matter too, hopefully before I’m dead 🙂

Comment by Russell

I think most work does matter, even if it’s repetitious or back breaking…it’s those paper shuffling jobs somewhere between the bottom and the top that get confusing, or the ones where the boss asks one thing, it gets produced and then the boss changes mind.

Comment by Robin Hawke

Robin,

Good writing aside, this post will resonate with people. I quit jobs that didn’t “matter” and have never looked back.

Aloha,

D.

Comment by dmmacilroy

Very concise. 3 sentences that really say it all. Nicely done.

Comment by Lou Lohman

Good story line…thought provoking. I’d love for my work to matter. I suppose it always does one some level, but it’s nice to SEE it matter. I had a job I liked but likewise quit due to a need for self preservation. One of the organization’s board members was verbally abusive to me but no one wanted to confront him because he “brought too much to the table.” It made me wonder what else didn’t matter to them…

Comment by Susan Wenzel (@SusanWenzel)

Which side won? I have had the same arguments with myself.

Comment by wcdameron

See now? You’ve been listening in my head. I wish I were courageous enough to take a leap without knowing where I would land financially. Especially these days. So instead, I try holding up Gratitude like a cross – warding off the vampires bred in the dark holes of working at a job that I like very little, but need.

Comment by Janece

Self preservation has an economic component, doesn’t it? I could have easily written this (instead of the story above):

She argued with herself, running through the reasons she should quit writing. There was only one reason to find a job, self preservation. She wanted her work to provide a living.

Comment by Robin Hawke




Leave a Reply

