Robin Hawke


A Door in a Tree
January 23, 2012, 5:03 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges | Tags: ,

Folks expect a door in a tree to be tiny—designed for elf and sprite homebodies—and that humans must bend double to pass from world to world. This door was tall; all right, I crooked my neck to cross the threshold of my kingdom.  Inside, there was plenty of frothy Guinness, friends and darts. After a round of golf, I’d order a shandy for my daughter and we’d replay our game. Stolen hours became ritual, our weekly outing, celebrations of  birdies and fifteen foot sinkers. Then, tourists found our niche, sat on our worn benches, and shared pictures of a castle in Paris and a tower in England.

I looked for a piece of land with its own aged baobab. Found one in another country, up the coast. I apologized to it before we began the work of hollowing. It’s a regret I keep: The interior lacked that oxidized, caramel color; my girl flew abroad for a degree; my knees betrayed me on the links. The next time there was a whisper in my ear, it was a nurse with a cup of pills. Another pint, another round.

Click to read entries...Inspiration Mondays prompts...

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow. Such a heavy sense of loss without even a death. Darn tourists. Darn education. Darn…time.

Beautiful and sad.

Comment by bekindrewrite

Darn not recognizing the time at hand…thanks!

Comment by Robin Hawke

[…] Robin […]

Pingback by Inspiration Monday: travelling by balloon « BeKindRewrite

So few words, such a complete picture! Very imaginative with a nice twist.
Thanks for sharing this one.

Comment by Kirsten

My pleasure, thanks for dropping by!

Comment by Robin Hawke

Robin, I always adore your writing! By the end of this story I sighed out loud and blinked back the tears welling in my eyes. I certainly didn’t see that coming 🙂 Thanks for sharing your gift with us!

Comment by theyellowkite

Your response honors me, thank you.

Comment by Robin Hawke




Leave a Reply

