Robin Hawke


Certain Words
February 4, 2012, 4:03 PM
Filed under: All Writing Challenges, Love and Romance

My first boyfriend was a sweet talker. His native tongue was Germanic but he learned to caress me in English. He planted the seeds of love with tenderness and dry fingers. I studied deep set eyes and couldn’t imagine a finer dialect.

Yes, I said yes to him. I snuck into movies. I played hooky. I smoked cigarettes. Yes I said to his sweet questions and first kisses. I broke parental rules. Yes I said at a party and almost died of alcohol poisoning.

We never broke up. Once, I slapped him in the face, imagining myself on celluloid. And he sulked. And we argued more than a few times. But my family moved. Our last meeting became my first date with costly food.  One raspberry decorated our dessert. I remember the tandem sink of spoons into chocolate mousse while our words fell away into the twinkling lights of the city below.

Our tree he tattooed came down to prepare the ground for tarmac. The fertile glances over geometry books and hot pepper dares leached out of memory. The words he planted in me. That I loved. Yes. They remain sweet forgotten seeds of the lover I became.

Visit DIY Romance prompt...

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like this. It’s poetic and abstract but still has the rosy feeling of young love.

Comment by WhitneyCarter

Thanks Whitney!

Comment by Robin Hawke

I love how this has a “The Notebook” kind of feel to it. Young love in a poetic form!

Comment by cestlavie22

Ah, first love… so intense.

Comment by snagglewordz

Nicely written and filled with that feeling of forthcoming tragedy, actually. I don’t know if that’s where you were going with it, but I definitely got the impression that she’s going to be devastated at some point.

Comment by 4amWriter

You may be right, especially if she keeps saying Yes.

Comment by Robin Hawke

I had to come back and comment because I’ve been thinking about this one for a while-in a good way. I think it really captures the bittersweet taste of first love. The beautifully chosen words paint such an intimate portrait, and leave me longing for more.
Great stuff. 🙂

Comment by Kirsten

Your return honors and touches me more than I can express. Thank you.

Comment by Robin Hawke

This has to be one of the most poetically beautiful passages I have ever read. Your words flow like memories, sweet and true. Lovely!

Comment by Judee

Ohhhh, thank you!

Comment by Robin Hawke




Leave a Reply

