Robin Hawke


Apples
February 5, 2012, 4:02 PM
Filed under: Three Sentence Stories

The woodpeckers have turned my apple tree into a cribbage board. The tree ignores the methodical drilling and takes its annual work seriously, sending flowers down the assembly lines of branches. Only I shirk my duties with organic methods that favor the deer.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We had an extensive orchard when I was young. Watching the deer, rise up on their hide legs to reach the end of the season apples, was always a treat.

Comment by Leila

I’d love to see that!

Comment by Robin Hawke

Unfortunately, I live in the city so I don’t know what gardens are like. But this gave me a lot of help! 🙂

Comment by lynnette-net




Leave a Reply

