Robin Hawke


Intelligent Design
March 9, 2012, 7:50 PM
Filed under: Three Sentence Stories

A specially-designed squirrel-proof bird feeder was thrown out of clay, fired then glazed, filled with specially-purchased, songbird-designed seed, and hung on a steel cable. A squirrel jumped onto it, losing balance, as intended. The feeder swung against a tree and broke its lid, scattering seed for multiple squirrels.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hate it when that happens.

Comment by Tara R.

One day there will be a fox at the base of the tree.

Comment by Robin Hawke

I can totally see this happening and all the squirrels in the trees yipping and hollering in victory.

Comment by 4amWriter

That’s one of those sounds of spring: rodent nails scampering up and down trees.

Comment by Robin Hawke

well, darn! ;0(

Comment by MythRider Phyllis Moore

Oh, this made me smile. Is there any feeder that can really keep the squirrels at bay?! I’ve yet to see it….

Comment by jmmcdowell

Last summer a small bear pulled a feeder of the post and cracked it in half. What’s squirrel AND bearproof?

Comment by Robin Hawke

Oh my gosh, you live near bears? I know we have them in Maryland, but I haven’t heard any reports of them in my suburban area. Whew. I doubt any feeder could escape even a small black bear….

Comment by jmmcdowell

One ambles through every three years, but we’ve only seen tracks or hindquarters.

Comment by Robin Hawke

I especially like how the title hit me on the way out, once I finished reading and realized what this story could really be about.
Nice! 🙂

Comment by Kirsten

Thanks!

Comment by Robin Hawke




Leave a Reply

