Robin Hawke


Flu
March 15, 2012, 5:52 PM
Filed under: Three Sentence Stories

The flu doesn’t land on an empty nest. The virus predator circles like a hawk on the fringes of the clear zone. Waiting.

A hawk has taken up residence in the woods to the north. Predators are a sign of a healthy environment, so my thoughts went opposite, opposite health to sickness, opposite soaring or circling to nesting. I know similes are out of fashion, but I don’t know why. Is it because their use is plentiful before this century or because they are taught in fifth grade and remind us of  novice writings or is there another reason—anyone?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My best friend just posted today that she has the flu…. Hmm.

I’m not sure about the similes. I just finished reading Stephen King’s “On Writing,” and he likes them when they’re used well and aren’t clichés. So maybe teachers, agents, and editors have been bombarded with so many bad ones that they don’t want to see even the good ones.

Comment by jmmcdowell

So I needn’t be afraid they mark me as an uneducated writer?

Comment by Robin Hawke

I’d say as long as they make a good comparison you’re safe. I’m not a big fan of King’s works (just not my taste), but he does know writing. So I think some are fine.

Comment by jmmcdowell

I agree with the above comment. There are too many cliches in use, however a clever simile is a beautiful thing.

Comment by Janet

Agreed!

Comment by Robin Hawke




Leave a Reply

